قمنا في مركز بحوث الطاقة الموجهة بتصميم وبناء أحدث المختبرات في مجال الكهرومغناطيسية والصوتيات والبصريات كي تدعم كافة نشاطات الأبحاث. وساهم في بناء هذه المختبرات مجموعة من الشركاء الحريصين على دعم رؤية المركز.

الكهرومغناطيسية والطاقة النبضية

حجرة شبه ممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية (EMC/EMI)

تم تصميم حجرتنا شبه الممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية بحيث تتيح إجراء اختبارات الامتثال الكهرومغناطيسي على أجهزة يصل حجمها لغاية حجم المركبة.نملك الأجهزة اللازمة لتنفيذ اختبار المناعة لغاية تردد 18 جيجاهيرتز، وقياس الموجات الكهرومغناطيسية النبضية في الأنظمة التي تصل إلى كامل شحنتها بأقل من نانوثانية واحدة وتعمل بموجات مستمرة لغاية 10 جيجاهيرتز.وقد مكننا حجم الغرفة الكبير من إضافة جهاز الموجات محددة الارتفاع لمحاكاة النبضة الكهرومغناطيسية النووية. وقد تم إدماج أدوات القياس التالية في حجرة الاختبار:

  • حجرة شبه ممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية من تردد 30 ميجاهيرتز لغاية 18 جيجاهيرتز، وتبلغ أبعادها 22.6 م (طول) × 17.6 م (عرض) × 6.5 م (ارتفاع)
  • جهاز ذو أربعة مداخل لتحليل شدّة وطَور موجات الشبكات الكهربائية لغاية 20 جيجاهيرتز
  • تحديد خصائص مادة العازل الكهربائي الرفيع من تردد 4 ميجاهيرتز لغاية 26 جيجاهيرتز
  • جهاز تحليل الطيف لغاية تردد 46 جيجاهيرتز
  • المناعة ضد إشعاعات التشويش من تردد 80 ميجاهيرتز لغاية 18 جيجاهيرتز / 10 فولت/متر مع تضمين سعة يبلغ 80%
  • نظام قياس متزامن لـ 16 قناة من قنوات انتقال الموجات الكهرومغناطيسية النبضية ولغاية 20 جيجاهيرتز/ 80 مليار قراءة في الثانية
  • جهاز داخلي لمحاكاة النبضة الكهرومغناطيسية النووية
  • مساحة داخلية لتحليق الطائرات المسيرة لغايات تقييم مقدار تأثرها أثناء الطيران
  •  بوسع مركز بحوث الطاقة الموجهة إجراء الاختبارات وفق المعايير التالية: IEC/EN 61000-4-3 / MIL-STD 461 -RS103: 80 ميجاهيرتز - 18 جيجاهيرتز، مستوى الاختبار: 10 فولت/متر بمسافة 3 أمتار، IEC 61000-4-36 ،MIL-STD RS105/ IEC 61000-4-25

 حجرة شبه ممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية وذات مستوى ضجيج منخفض

تم تصميم هذه الحجرة شبه الممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية للاستخدامات المتعلقة بالأمن الإشعاعي، حيث تتيح عزل الإشارات لغاية 120 ديسيبل ما بين تردد 1 ميجاهيرتز و10 جيجاهيرتز. المعدات المتوفرة:

  • حجرة شبه ممتصة للموجات الكهرومغناطيسية ومنخفضة الضجيج بأبعاد 6.5 م (طول) × 6.5 م (عرض) × 3.2 م (ارتفاع)
  •  عزل الإشارات بفعالية تبلغ 120 ديسيبل ولغاية تردد 10 جيجاهيرتز
  • مستقبل إشارات عريضة النطاق يتيح وصولاً كاملاً لشدّة/طَور الموجات الراديوية، لغايات اعتماد الأنظمة من ناحية الضجيج.
  • أحدث أجهزة المطياف

مختبر فرق الجهد العالي (الطاقة النبضية)

تم تصميم مختبر فرق الجهد العالي لدينا بحيث يتسع لمولدات الطاقة النبضية كبيرة الحجم المستخدمة في العديد من التطبيقات والتي تستغرق أقل من نانوثانية واحدة لتصل إلى كامل شحنتها التي تقارب 500 كيلوفولت. وبغية إجراء أحدث الأبحاث في مجال تكنولوجيا الطاقة النبضية، فقد تم إدماج أدوات القياس التالية بالمختبر:

  • حجرة معزولة بأبعاد 17.6 م (طول) × 15.0 م (عرض) × 7.0 م (ارتفاع).
  • نظامان للقياس المتزامن لـ 4 من قنوات انتقال الموجات الكهرومغناطيسية النبضية ولغاية 8 جيجاهيرتز/ 40 مليار قراءة في الثانية
  • مستشعرات فرق الجهد العالي لغاية 100 كيلوفولت عند تردد 120 ميجاهيرتز / 2 نانوثانية للوصول لكامل شحنتها
  • مستشعرات فرق الجهد العالي التفاضلية لغاية 6.8 كيلوفولت - 200 ميجاهيرتز
  • أجهزة مطياف للاستخدامات العامة تعمل لغاية 6 جيجاهيرتز
  • مصادر فرق الجهد العالي للاستخدامات العامة وبقدرة +-60 كيلوفولت / 5 ميلي أمبير
  • شواحن المكثفات السريعة بقدرة 20 كيلوفولت / 1.2 أمبير / 12 كيلوجول/ثانية

مختبر الصوتيات

لقد صممنا مختبرنا الجديد للصوتيات ليمكننا من إجراء التجارب الصوتية شديدة الحساسية التي تتطلب درجة عالية من العزل عن أصوات البيئة واهتزازاتها.

ويتيح لنا المختبر الجديد تطوير أجهزة البث والاستشعار الصوتية المبتكرة وتحديد خصائصها. ففي هذه البيئة المضبوطة، يمكننا تحديد مصادر الصوت غير المقصودة ضمن الأنظمة الإلكترونية المتطورة، والتي قد تجعلها عرضة للهجمات الجانبية.

ونستخدم أدواتنا البصرية التي طورناها بأنفسنا لتحليل الاهتزازات في دراسة عمل الأنظمة الميكانيكية عبر نطاق واسع من الترددات.

كما تمكننا درجة العزل الصوتي الممتازة من إجراء تجارب الصوتيات عالية القدرة للنظر إلى مدى ضعف الأجهزة أمام مصادر الصوت عالية القدرة. ومن خلال تحليل آثار مصادر الصوت عالية القدرة، يمكننا تغيير التصاميم للتصدي لهجمات حجب الخدمة أو حجب إشارات التحكم التي قد يشنها مهاجم عن بعد.

مختبرات الليزر والضوئيات

غرفة الليزر المعقمة

تشتمل مرافق مركز بحوث الطاقة الموجهة على غرفة معقمة وفق فئة أيزو 7 وبمساحة 77 م2. تشتمل هذه الغرفة المعقمة على بيئة مضبوطة، حيث يتم التحكم بدرجة الحرارة ونسبة الرطوبة، وفلترة جزيئات الغبار التي يصل حجمها لغاية 0.5 نانومتر. حيث يتم تحقيق مستوى التعقيم المطلوب باستخدام نظام التدفئة والتبريد والتهوية عالي الأداء وفلاتر هواء عالية الكفاءة، بحيث تتم المحافظة على تدفق تيار من الهواء المفلتر إلى الغرفة لإبقاء الضغط داخلها أعلى منه خارجها.

تضمن البيئة المعقمة داخل الغرفة بأن جميع التجارب التي يتم إجراؤها في هذه المنطقة ستكون بمعزل عن تأثيرات التغييرات البيئية مثل درجة الحرارة أو مستوى الرطوبة، بما يضمن نتائج شديدة الدقة. لهذا السبب تعتبر الغرفة المعقمة منطقة مثالية لإجراء الأبحاث والتطوير المتعلق بتصنيع الليزر، وأجهزة البصريات الميكروية، وبصريات الفضاء الحر، وتطوير أشباه الموصلات.

تحتوي الغرفة المعقمة على أربع طاولات للبصريات العلمية مجهزة بأنظمة لعزل الاهتزازات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن الغرفة المعقمة مجهزة بالتأريض وتحتوي أثاثاً مصنوعاً من مواد محددة لتفادي تشكّل الشحنات الكهربائية الساكنة، ومنع إلحاق أي ضرر عرضي بالأجهزة الإلكترونية/الكهروبصرية الشديدة الحساسية.

مختبرات الليزر الداخلية والخارجية

إضافة إلى غرفة الليزر المعقمة فإن مركز بحوث الطاقة الموجهة يحتوي مختبرات الليزر عالي القدرة، لغايات قياس مقاومة المواد والاستخدامات الصناعية لليزر، بما يعزز من قدرات مختبر الليزر. تم تصميم مختبرات الليزر هذه بحيث تكون متنقلة بشكل كامل، وتستخدم لإجراء تجارب تحليل تفاعل الليزر مع المواد في الداخل وضمن بيئة مضبوطة، أو في الخارج لتجارب الانتشار عبر الفضاء الحر في الظروف الجوية الصحراوية، وذلك لدراسة تأثيرات تسخين الهواء والاضطرابات الجوية.

 هذه المختبرات مجهزة بمصادر ليزر ذات قدرة تعادل عدة كيلوواط، ويصل مدى تركيزها لبضعة كيلومترات عند تركيبها على ذراع آلي. وهي تحتوي على كافة أدوات القياس الضرورية لتحديد خصائص أشعة الليزر وتأثيرات الليزر على المواد. تلبي مختبرات الليزر هذه معيار IEC 60825 للسلامة من الليزر وتحتوي أنظمة حوسبة مزودة بأحدث البرمجيات لتطوير البصريات وإجراء المحاكاة المعقدة.

قدرات المعالجة الحسابية وبرمجيات المحاكاة

يتم دعم جميع أنشطة الأبحاث باستخدام أدوات لمحاكاة التطبيقات المتعلقة بالكهرومغناطيسية، والبصريات، والصوتيات. حيث تم توفير قدرات المعالجة الحسابية الضرورية لتنفيذ المحاكاة بكفاءة، لكي نمنح علماءنا أحدث القدرات.

To support all research activities, the DERC has designed and built cutting-edge laboratories for acoustics, electromagnetics, and optics. These laboratories have been built with a network of partners keen to support the vision of the Centre.

Electromagnetics and Pulsed Power

Semi-Anechoic Chamber (EMC/EMI)

Our semi-anechoic chamber can perform EMC-compliance tests for devices up to the size of a vehicle. The chamber is equipped to perform immunity testing up to 18GHz and fast transient electromagnetic measurements of systems with sub-nanosecond rise times and continuous wave performance up to 10GHz. The room size is sufficient to host a vertical bounded wave NEMP simulator. The following instrumentation has been integrated into the test chamber:

  • Semi-anechoic chamber of 22.6m (L) x 17.6m (W) x 6.5m (H) working from 30MHz-18GHz
  • Four Port Vector Network Analyzer up to 20GHz
  • Thin Layer dielectric Material Characterization from 4 MHz – 26 GHz
  • Spectrum Analyzer up to 46 GHz
  • Immunity to radiated disturbances from 80MHz-18GHz / 10V/m incl. 80%AM
  • Fast electromagnetic transient simultaneous 16-channel measurement system up to 20 GHz/ 80 GSa/s
  • Indoor NEMP Simulator
  • Indoor fly zone for UAVs in order to evaluate their susceptibility in flight operations
  • The chamber is able to perform tests according to the following standards: IEC/EN 61000-4-3 / MIL-STD 461 -RS103: 80MHz – 18 GHz, Test level: 10V/m @ 3mIEC 61000-4-36, MIL-STD RS105/ IEC 61000-4-25

Low Noise semi-anechoic chamber

The semi-anechoic chamber has been optimized for hosting Emanation Security like applications with a minimum signal isolation capability of 120 dB from 1 MHz and 10 GHz. Available Equipment:

  • Low noise semi-anechoic chamber of 6.5m (L) x 6.5m (W) x 3.2m (H)
  • 120 dB shielding effectiveness up to 10 GHz
  • Wide-band receiver with full IQ access to perform RF systems qualifications with regards to noise
  • State-of-the art oscilloscopes

High-Voltage Laboratory (Pulsed Power)

Our high-voltage laboratory can host large, pulsed-power generators used to drive different applications reaching sub-nanosecond rise times and peak voltages in the range of 500kV. In order to perform cutting-edge research in the field of pulsed-power technologies, the laboratory with a shielded chamberhas the following instrumentation integrated: 

  • Shielded Chamber of 17.6m (L) x 15.0m (W) x 7.0m (H).
  • Two fast electromagnetic transient simultaneous 4-channel measurement system up to 8 GHz/ 40 GSa/s
  • High voltage probes up to 100kV @ 120MHz / 2ns rise time
  • Differential high voltage probes up to 6.8kV – 200MHz
  • General purpose oscilloscopes up to 6GHz
  • General purpose high voltage sources up to +-60kV/ 5mA
  • Fast Capacitor Chargers of 20kV/ 1.2A/ 12kJ/s

Lab Inquiry

Acoustic Laboratory

Our acoustic lab is designed for highly sensitive acoustic experiments that require a high degree of isolation from environmental sound and vibrations.

The lab allows us to develop and characterise novel acoustic transmitters and sensors. In our controlled environment, we can identify involuntary sound sources in complex electronic systems that might lead to side-channel attacks.

Using our custom-developed optical vibration analysis tools, we can examine mechanical systems' behaviour across a wide frequency range of frequencies.

The high degree of acoustic isolation further enables us to run high-power sound experiments for researching device susceptibility to high-power sound sources. By analysing the impact of high-power acoustic sources, we can devise design changes to prevent denial-of-service attacks or blocking control by remote attackers.

Lab Inquiry

Laser and Photonics Laboratories

Laser clean room

The Directed Energy Research Centre facilities is equipped with a 77 m2 room ISO 7 level cleanroom. The cleanroom is a controlled environment where temperature and humidity are controlled and, dust particles up to 0.5 µm size are filtered. This cleanliness level is obtained thanks to high-performance HVAC (Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning) system and the use of HEPA (High-Efficiency Particulate Air) filter that maintains a constant filtered-air flow with positive pressure inside the room.

The controlled environment of the clean room guarantees that all experiments performed in this area will be free of influence of atmospheric changes like temperature or humidity level, assuring high precision results. For this reason, the clean room is the ideal area to do research and development for laser manufacture, microwave photonics devices, free space optics and semiconductor developments.

The cleanroom counts with four scientific-degree optical tables with vibration isolation systems. Additionally, the cleanroom is equipped with electrical grounding and furniture materials to avoid Electro Static Discharges (ESD) to avoid any accidental damage in highly sensitive electronics/optoelectronics.

In-door and Out-door laser laboratories

Complementary to the laser clean room, DERC has high-power laser laboratories for material resistance and laser industrial application will enforce laser laboratory capabilities. These laser laboratories, designed with full mobility, are used to do experiments either indoor for laser-matter interaction analysis under controlled atmosphere or outdoor for free space propagation under desert climatic conditions in order to study thermal blooming and turbulence effects.

These laboratories are equipped with multi-kW laser sources with a focusing range capability over few km mounted on a controlled arm. They are provided with all the required instrumentation to characterize laser beam and laser-matter effects. The laser laboratories accomplish with the standard IEC 60825 for laser safety and have computing systems with state-of-the-art software for optics development and multiphysics simulation.

Lab Inquiry

Computation Power and Simulation Software

All experimental activities are complemented with simulation tools for electromagnetics, optics and acoustics applications.  The computation power required for efficient simulation has been deployed in order to provide our scientists with cutting-edge capabilities.

Lab Inquiry